I’M BACK

23Mar08

Just got in from a solid 7 mile run. I took a complete week off, before today I hadn’t run since a 12 mile run last Saturday. For those of you that don’t already know, I went to the podiatrist on Tuesday of last week and got diagnosed with a severe case of tendinitis in my left foot, with a side of plantar fishyitis (I know that’s not how you spell it, but i don’t feel like looking it up). When I told her that I was supposed to run 20 miles the upcoming Saturday and she quickly cringed and said no way, I felt like a load of bricks just fell on my head. I’ve ran a whole hell of a lot of miles to just have something like this hold me back. It’s been a tough week self esteem-wise. I’ve never been a person to get down on myself or get discouraged about anything really. Just not how I’m programmed. I’ve had a lot of great things happen to me, but I’ve also had my fair share of negatives along the way. My mom is my inspiration and always will be, when I called her on my way back to work from the foot doctor and told her what the doc had said, the first words out of her mouth were, “you’re not going to have to drop out are you?” My mom has mastered the art of pushing me just enough to make me persevere but not too much to where I break or get hurt. On my run this afternoon I thought A LOT about things in general that have come from this running adventure we started however many weeks ago. I’ve never and will never claim that athletics are my strong suit. I will be the first to tell you that I don’t think I’ve got the chances along the way that I thought I’ve deserved, athletically. My personality gets me in trouble a lot in several different ways, I’m what you could call, difficult to be taken seriously. But ya know what, that’s me, can’t change that, and don’t want to. With this marathon, it doesn’t matter what other people think, what other people say, do, whatever…I’m the only one that can hold myself back. As long as the pain doesn’t come back in my foot, and I’m pretty confident these power steps will do the trick because I experienced zero pain in my foot today, I’m going to finish this thing no matter what.

From everyone else’s blogs it sounds like the 20 miles was a pretty good success. As I ran up to my house today I ALMOST said screw it and took off for another 13 miles, I felt like I could do it mentally, but I thought better of it seeing as I’ve taken the whole week off. I would be upset with myself if I overdid it and ended up in more pain. I am going to run the 20 miles this week, and am pumped about it, it’s too many miles to just skip I think.

I want to thank Derek big time for the text message after he got done running this weekend. That meant a whole heck of a lot and really showed me that you were thinking about me. I’d like to give ya a big kiss. Not. But seriously, that was awesome man…

**Update – Bobby, just read your blog entry on the 20 miles, thanks for the well wishes, much appreciated.  Good to know you guys got my back.

2 Responses to “I’M BACK”

  1. Hey man,

    Injuries are tough for distance runners. For distance runners pushing yourself to that limit is the tough part and you are constantly training yourself that you can go another mile. But you got to be smart and listen to your body. I’m glad you took the week off and didn’t run the 20 this weekend get some rest and get back into it. As my track coach use to say Puke and rally. Time to rally man get your rally hat on. Pay close attention to your foot if it really starts screaming to stop then do because you will kick yourself harder if you permanently damage your foot.

    Sorry i’m rambling here and i think half of that was completely incoherent (sorry) bottom line keep up the good work.

    p.s. after i do the half marathon i’ve put it on myself to do a full.

  2. 2 brumagen

    Here we go! Just a little over 24 hours and we will be out there! I am very glad you were able to bounce back from the foot pain and stick with us in this little adventure! Thanks for all of the support over the last few months man! Good luck Saturday!


Leave a Reply

